I’ve lived in Columbus, Ohio for almost two years now, and I must say: Spring makes me fall head-over-heels for this city. The flowers are blooming, the trees are budding, the Jeni’s line keeps getting longer… you get the point.

Isn't Columbus gorgeous?

March’s higher-than-average weather proved incredible, but April isn’t living up to my expectations. The chilly temperatures and dreary skies that plagued Columbus throughout the past few weeks forced me to take matters into my own hands and bring the outdoors inside.

Since I lack a green thumb, I immediately gravitate toward cacti and succulents. They require little water or care, which works well for my less-than-admirable gardening skills.

I purchased a planter at my local home improvement store (approximately $14) and chose one with a hole at the base (for proper drainage.)  I filled it with three plants ($3-4 each,) and my mom was kind enough to let me use some rocks and premixed potting soil for free.

The longest I’ve kept a plant alive was approximately two years, so let’s see how long these puppies will last! I put them in front of a west-facing window for optimal afternoon sunlight.

Feeling inspired? One of my favorite blogs, The Nester, offers several rockin’ posts about using plants indoors. Part four of her series deals specifically with terrariums.

