If you follow my Pinterest boards, you’ve probably realized I love when designers put plates on walls. It seems like a tacky idea, but when done tastefully (no pun intended,) plates can add personality and color to any room.

(via)

I like this idea best when it’s implemented in dining rooms and kitchens, which showcases the plates in their natural environments. But when an unnecessary Target run led me to discover plates that just happened to match my living room decor, I couldn’t resist. (Oh, and did I mention the plates were only $2.50 each?)

Before: A sad, lonely living room wall.

After: A bright, happy wall.

Aren’t they fabulous? The plates I purchased were plastic, so 3M hanging strips did the trick. I live in a rental, which means I try to avoid putting holes in my walls when possible.

What are your thoughts? Would you hang plates or other unconventional objects on your walls?

