Remember when I mentioned my lonely bedroom wall several posts ago? I finally stepped up and purchased a fabulous Ikea shelf for it; however, I quickly realized I don’t have anything to display on the shelf. I decided I’m not going to hang it until I get my act together and choose some decorative pieces.

While searching for cheap shelf decor ideas, I discovered this Pinterest image and instantly became intrigued. Pennies typically waste space without bringing much value, but this project made them look really cool. Many of us have some spare change lounging around the house and car, right?

(source)

I grabbed my mason jar full of spare change and got to work. Here’s how I made this idea my own:

  • I purchased a paper letter for approximately $2 at Hobby Lobby. The letter was cardboard brown, so I covered it with two coats of white spray paint.
  • I washed every nickel and dime I could find. (I didn’t use quarters; they’re precious commodities when you live in a city with metered parking!)
  • Once the paint dried, I used a hot glue glun to adhere nickels and dimes to my letter. As soon as the glue set, my project was complete.

Some helpful hints:

  • You could purchase any letter/number and paint it any color you like. Heck, you don’t even have to paint it. The world is your oyster.
  • I washed my change with soapy water, but if you’re using pennies, rumors say ketchup brightens them up. Not kidding.
  • Don’t be afraid to use a lot of glue! One small dab isn’t enough.
  • If you want this letter to stand upright on its own, add extra coins to the back of the letter. Even though the back isn’t visible, it’ll help even out the weight.

It doesn’t get much easier (and affordable) than this. I can’t wait to see how this nickel & dime letter pops against my bedroom’s mocha walls!

