September is definitely one of my favorite months.

It marks the start of crisp weather, football Saturdays and pumpkin spice lattes. And it just happens to be my birthday month.

My family traveled to my neck of the woods for birthday festivities, which led us straight to the Country Living Fair. My mom and I are faithful Country Living fanatics, so when we discovered the magazine hosts a fair in Columbus each year, we knew we  had to go.

Oh hey. It's me, standing by a bunch of gourds at the 2011 Country Living Fair.

My dad is a master handyman/carpenter/craftsman who can make just about anything, so I used our trip as an opportunity to scout out his next project. (What can I say? I’m always trying to sway him to make things I need.)

Although I left empty handed, I did find a few inspirational items:

This gorgeous salvaged window found new life as a reclaimed mirror. I wanted to bring this beauty home with me, but the $195 price tag seemed steep. I couldn’t justify paying more than $50 for an old window.

One crafter created adorable coat hangers by attaching vintage door knobs to reclaimed barn wood. I’d love to bring my own version to life with artsy doorknobs, which can be purchased at places like World Market or Anthropologie.

I don’t like this side table’s finish, but it’s lovely nonetheless. If painted white, it would make a great side table for my bedroom.

What do you think? Do you have a favorite find?

