Pretty prints, paintings and mirrors warm my heart.

I love browsing through wall art selections at my favorite home decor stores (like Home Goods and World Market,) but we all know this frugalista can’t afford a $150 painting.

Thank to Pinterest, I found the perfect DIY art project for an artistically challenged, budget-constrained chicka like me.

One random Saturday, I headed to the store and purchased two canvases, painter’s tape and green spray paint. (Sidenote: Did you know you have to be 18 to buy spray paint these days? Well, you do. And yes, I was carded. Looking like a 15-year old has its disadvantages.) 

First, I wrapped the painter’s tape around the canvases. I didn’t aim for a particular pattern; I kept adding tape until I was pleased with the overall look.

Next, I laid the canvases on a plastic surface and sprayed away. Feel free to laugh at the yellow squash and random cups holding down my garbage bag.

Once the paint dried, I removed the tape and voila! Beautiful wall art was born, and it only cost approximately $15.

Here’s the final product. What do you think?

