No matter where I'm living, I keep this quote magnet on my fridge.

Although they can be cheesy, I’m a sucker for inspirational quotes slapped on magnets, coffee mugs and note pads.

Just like a simple “I love you” or short, snarky e-mail can positively or negatively affect your mood, a to-the-point motivational quote can turn any Debbie Downer attitude upside down.

Last week, I came across an inspirational magnet that mentioned an Eleanor Roosevelt quote.  The magnet read,

“Do one thing every day that scares you.”

I know I’ve heard this quote several times, but it didn’t have real significance until now.

As you progress through elementary school and make your way through middle/high school, you’re taught that college is the “gateway” to success.  You’re disillusioned into thinking that if you pursue a college degree, you’ll graduate in four years, instantly land a fabulous job, buy a house and live the American dream.

I consider myself a realist, so I knew the transition from college to the “real world” wouldn’t be full of sunshine and rainbows.  I worked hard in college and hoped my academics, internships and extracurricular activities would help me land an entry-level public relations position before I graduated from Kent State University in May 2010.

Unfortunately, this didn’t happen: and it was scary.  I knew I could move home and live with my parents until I accepted a full-time position, but  I wanted to pursue a career in Columbus.  So I brushed my fears aside, packed my bags, left my family and friends in my small northeast Ohio town and headed to the city for my dream internship in a field I love: health care public relations.

Nothing beats lunch outside the Ohio Statehouse!

I’ve been living and interning in Columbus for almost one month now, and although it was scary, I am glad I stepped out of my comfort zone and took the risk.   I absolutely love my internship, and to my surprise, I enjoy city living.  I’ve had to sacrifice some of the things I love to make ends meet, but I know I made the right decision.

So that’s what this blog is about: My journey from PR student to PR pro in a new town.  I plan to discuss anything and everything that’s on my mind, from obnoxious city bicyclists to social media measurement.  Feel free to stop by and join the conversation!

