My parents have kept a garden for decades. I have tons of fond childhood memories watching the veggies grow and helping my grandma (who was a real farmer for years) pick hundreds of green beans, tomatoes and cucumbers. I spent endless summers eating BLTs and enjoying my all-time favorite snack: cucumbers with Italian dressing.

The fam graciously gave me several fresh-picked cucumbers and tomatoes when I visited this month, so I turned the combo into a summer salad. It makes a great lunch and it’s definitely much more sophisticated than my usual cucumber/dressing combo, so I wanted to share the recipe with you!

On a random note: Can we all agree that home-grown veggies taste much better than store-bought ones?

Summer Salad

(Serves 3-4)

  • 2 cucumbers, peeled and cut into bite-sized pieces
  • 2 medium ripe tomatoes, diced
  • 1 can garbanzo beans, rinsed and drained
  • Fresh basil, chopped
  • 1/4 cup crumbled feta (to taste)
  • Salt and pepper (to taste)
  • Vinegar (I used a few tablespoons)
  • Olive oil (I used a few tablespoons)

Mix tomatoes, cucumbers, garbanzo beans, basil and feta in a large bowl. Add salt, pepper, vinegar and oil to your taste. Chill and enjoy!

Note: If you need more protein in the dish, add a tuna packet. 

